ESCAN logo
European Society
for Cognitive and
Affective Neuroscience

Call for Papers

50th Anniversary Congress of the German Psychological Society - LeiPSYCH.

Paper submission is possible from 2 November 2015 until 29 January 2016.

online submission

ESCAN meeting in Amsterdam

The ESCAN kick-off meeting (10-12 December 2009, Amsterdam) was the first public manifestation of the society. 70 participants from all over Europe attended 20 scientific presentations.


Marseille 2012

We look back at a succesful and well-attended first scientific meeting from 9 to 12 May 2012 in Marseille.

ESCAN meeting in 2014 

The Board is pleased to announce that Michael Falkenstein, one of our founding members, and his team will be organizing the ESCAN2014 meeting.

ESCAN meeting in 2016

Venue: Porto (Portugal)

Dates: JUNE 23-26, 2016

ESCAN 3rd international conference

We are pleased to announce the 3rd international conference of the European Society for Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience, that will take place in Porto, Portugal, between 23-26 of June, 2016, at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & Spa.



Matthew Apps recieved the ESCAN young researcher award during the Porto 2016 conference.

At the conference he presented a talk on "Neurocomputational basis of social signals in the anterior cingulate cortex".



New ESCAN board members 2016

2016 ESCAN board

Please welcome our new board members

Lorenza Colzato, ESCAN Secretary
Fernando Ferreira-Santos
Manos Tsakiris

New functions in the board

Bernhard Hommel, ESCAN Deputy-Treasurer

Leaving the board ...

Gilles Pourtois
Pedro Montoya
Lars Nyberg

ESCAN meeting in Leiden, 2018

The 2018 international conference of ESCAN was the largest yet and a great success! If you feel nostalgic, you can revisit many of the conference highlights on Twitter: #ESCAN2018.

Call for nominations: Election for ESCAN board members 2018

The ESCAN board is preparing an election to select new board members, that is scheduled to take place later in 2018 via electronic ballot (more information on the election will be provided at a later date).

As such, we are announcing a call for nominations among the ESCAN membership for the upcoming election. ESCAN members in good standing that are committed to the duties and mission of the society are eligible to become candidates either by self-nomination or by suggestion.

Members will be contacted via the e-mail address with which they are registered in the society with further instructions to submit a nomination/suggestion.

ESCAN election: Voting!

We are happy to announce the four candidates that have come forth in their interest to join the ESCAN board (ordered alphabetically):

  • Agnieszka Wykowska
  • Giorgia Silani
  • Matthias J. Wieser
  • Suzanne Oosterwijk

There are up to four available positions in the board. Read the candidates' application statements and biosketches.

The dates for the election are between the 7th and 18th of January 2019. An official notification from BallotBin has been sent via e-mail to voting members (as per Article 13, point 2 of the Constitution: "Every full member, retired member or honorary member who is not suspended has one vote. All other categories will be considered special members who have not the right to vote.").

Check your e-mail to vote!

For any queries please contact the ESCAN Board Secretary, Fernando Ferreira-Santos (

ESCAN election: Results

The results of the ESCAN election are out, and we are happy to announce the election of the four candidates Agnieszka Wykowska, Giorgia Silani, Matthias J. Wieser, and Suzanne Oosterwijk. Congratulations!

Participation in the ballot by members eligible to vote was 30.4%.